Let the Party Begin!

Welcome, Goddess Sisters, to this “moment” in my life. I am honored that you are here.

As all of you can imagine the decision to have my uterus removed was not easy. Let’s see…two kids at home with midwives, wrote a play about childbirth, started a global movement to make maternity care mother-friendly….and now, a hysterectomy.

If there is one thing I know for sure in life it’s that life is unpredictable…and when the curves balls arrive we can choose to resist or allow. We can see pain and suffering as plain old pain and suffering or we can see it as opportunity. I’m choosing the later!

So please join me. This is a celebration, ladies! No more periods, pelvic pain, or purchasing the entire stock of sanitary towels at Wholefoods. I truly believe a new “birth” awaits. I’m already imagining.

Now it’s time to party (or, rather, par-teh!). Any time this weekend I’m asking you to log into my blog and post a comment sending me support for this moment. (you will receive an email with details on how to login). Feel free to write anything – a letter to me, my uterus, a poem, a photo. If you’re not tech-savy and totally confused about how to post on this blog then just leave a comment after my inaugural post on Friday evening.

My surgery date is January 26 at 10am EST in the United States. If you can, please hold me in your thoughts from 9.30am EST onward…sending me all the light, love, and magic you can.

Okay, signing off for now. Can’t wait to party with you this weekend!

xoxo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let the Party Begin!

  1. Tee says:

    I know your surgery will be fine fine fine. Your uterus has done a fabulous job but now it’s time to move on – without the pain, bleeding. and other such events that your angry uterus is doing to you.

    To freedom to new beginnings and the start of a wonderful NEW you.
    Holding you in the light that you will be cradled softly on your journey. For trusting hands to care for you and skilled medical staff.
    Be safe, be free and a huge hug to you
    Always,
    Tee

  2. Melissa says:

    Karen I love you with all my heart. I am sending you so much love this week of your surgery. Like I have already told you…..I feel like everything will be more than just fine. Your uterus has been the instigator in so many aspects of your life from helping bazillions of women, Bold and your 2 beautiful boys!!! All these feminine ways we connect and reach out……but you are and will always be (with or without your uterus!) this wonderful beautiful woman who is constantly reaching out and helping others around you. My poem in honor of this weekend:
    Karen my strong and marvelous friend
    I’m so glad this is coming to an end.
    She has served you so well
    Birth, Bold and 2 boys who are swell.
    But the ups and the downs,
    The pain all around.
    Say Goodbye, Adios and Farewell!!
    Much love my dear
    Talk to you soon
    Love Melissa

Leave a Reply

