Home

There is no place like home, that’s for sure. And home is where I’m at now. Actually, I got home yesterday just one day after surgery!

The surgery went well…although it took double the amount of time the surgeon planned because it was particularly challenging to do it laproscopically. (don’t read the rest of this paragraph if you are easily grossed-out!). Basically my uterus was extremely large and one of the fibroids was so big it was pushing on an artery. It was hard for the surgeon to see everything easily and he had to move quite slowly because of the artery. I also had a 7cm cyst on my left ovary and the cyst had adhered to a few organs! (yes, that’s the gross part!). He tried to save the ovary, but couldn’t so now I have just one, which is actually enough to make my normal hormones and have hot flashes and all those fun things through menopause!

I felt surprisingly calm before the surgery (thank you yoga nidra and a fabulous pre surgery relaxation tape by Peggy Huddleston). The moment they wheeled me towards the operating room I felt like I was on an episode of ER, really all I saw was the ceiling and surrounding walls passing by and then the air got very cold, people had blue masks and hats on and I was asked to get on the operating table. The anesthesiologist said he was going to give me something to relax and that was it…I was out until the recovery room.

That’s when I panicked. I felt locked in a dream. Loud voices, lots of people moving, again I’m looking mostly at the ceiling and it’s all blurry. I kept thinking I’m dreaming and can’t wake myself up. I also wondered for a moment if this was heaven and hoped not because I had imagined a much more serene environment! I heard the nurse say it was nearly 4pm and that seemed strange because the doctor said he thought I’d be in my room by 2pm.

When they wheeled me to my room Tim, Jacob, Aden and my mother were standing in the hallway. Tim and my mom looked happy and said “everything’s fine” which made me feel good. Jacob looked confused. And Aden looked scared shitless.

A snowstorm was enveloping the DC area so unfortunately after settling me into my room they all left (and thank goodness they did – a normally 20 minute trip took them 90 minutes!). I was so drugged up it didn’t really matter too much. Wish I could have slept, but hospitals are not the best sleeping environment…one woman in a nearby room was screaming “Nurse!” until 3am, my roommate had her light on all night, and the IV drip she had kept beeping loudly every hour. So I did some yoga nidra, listened to some fabulous chanting music and sipped water and juice while taking every pain med they offered me.

The next morning I got to go home and arrived to a house full of my beautiful boys, wonderful mother (Tim took me home!)….and lots of flowers. Very sweet.

I still had lots of pain yesterday, but today I’m in much less pain. Took a shower. Ate alot. And plan to watch a movie with the boys and have Indian takeout tonight.

So life is back to normal. Well, actually no… life has shifted. A great shift forward. I feel it, I’m going to ride it, and let it take me where it goes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home

  1. Tee says:

    Delighted to read this. I have been looking for you on Hystersisters – thank you for your post.
    Take good care of yourself. I am thinking of you and sending good thoughts your way for a continued uneventful recovery.
    hugznblessings
    Tee

  2. Shirley Villela says:

    Dear friend, wonderful news you tell us! I’m sure your recovery will be (it is already) soft and easy, rounded of love from your boys (includind Tim, of course), mother and friends.
    Envy your indian dinner! I would love to be there with all of you, guys.
    Love and healing for you,
    Shirley.

Leave a Reply

